2020 & Random Favorites

It’s been way too long since my last blog post! We’ll just blame 2020 for my massive delay. Whew – WHAT A YEAR! I don’t know about you, but this year has been a bit of a blur. It’s like life just stood still for 7 months. While it was a challenging year in many ways, it was also a year that brought so much growth and realignment for our family. We were forced to slow down and shift our plans, which allowed us a lot more time together (some times a little too much togetherness). 🙂

I have so many things swirling around in my head that I would love to share here, but for now I thought I’d simply share some of our favorite things. This won’t be an exhaustive list by any means and will most definitely be random. However, I will never share anything with you that we don’t absolutely love and use all the time!

Here are some of our current favorite things (in no particular order….just whatever pops in my head first):

Birthday Cards

Who doesn’t love getting a letter or card in the mail? Especially these days of being socially distanced! There is just something so special about a handwritten card. These Birthday cards are great quality and a great price (24 cards for under $10). We also love these Thinking of You cards and these Blank Cards. Oh, and I can’t help but mention my favorite pens! These are everyone’s favorite around here, so we can never have too many!

She Reads Truth Bible

This is the Bible I use everyday and love. I wanted a Bible that I could use for years and years, and one day pass down to my girls. I added these adorable Bible tabs and use these highlighters and pen to write notes throughout. I love the daily reading plan provided to help me stay on track with my Bible reading and I love the added devotional pages throughout.

Electric Toothbrush

We have been using Oral B electric toothbrushes for several years now, and just recently upgraded to these from a more basic design. We also let our girls pick out the toothbrushes they liked best (pink for the 10 year old and Frozen for the 8 year old). Our dentist visits have been excellent and I really think these toothbrushes help a lot! We also love Redmond Toothpaste, Tongue Scrappers, Smart Floss, Charcoal Whitening Powder, and our Water Flosser.

Essential Oil Diffuser

We have used these diffusers for nearly 5 years now and they are still going strong! I used to love to light candles around the house, but when I realized how toxic most candles are (especially scented ones), I ditched them and started diffusing essential oils instead. We use these diffusers during times of sickness as well. I even have a diffuser for my car! I love Doterra Oils (and have several friends who sell them, so just let me know if you need a rep!), but also you Plant Therapy oils as well.

Soap Pouch

These are great, especially for kids! Keeps the bar of soap contained and clean and provides a gentle exfoliating for your body. We love Dr. Bronner’s Soap and Alaffia Good Bar Soap. Or if you’re not a bar soap person, we also LOVE this body wash! While we’re on the topic of soap, this is the hand soap we use to fill our foaming soap bottles all around the house.

Sound Machine

We have two of these sound machines and used them for 8 straight years with not one issue. We still use them in our guest rooms or when we travel. The girls have slept with a sound machine since the day they were born. Now that we have our Austin Air Purifiers, those act as sound machines for us instead, but these little portable sound machines have withstood the test of time!

Eyelash Curler

This eyelash curler is a staple in my makeup bag and has been for at least a decade. There is something about an eyelash curler that makes my eyelashes look so much better! Such a simple thing, yet such a big difference. I use this eyelash/eyebrow brush to comb through my brows and eyelashes as well. If you have thick eyebrows like me, you’ll want a pair of these tiny scissors to help trim the long eyebrow hairs. I use the eyebrow brush to brush them all upwards and then just trim any that are longer than the rest. Everyone needs a great pair of tweezers for those stray hairs as well. Oh, and I love this mascara too!

Velvet Hangers

When we moved from our last house (tiny closet) to our current one (dream closest), I knew it was time to step up my closet organization. I had been using plain plastic hangers my whole life (which were just fine) but I had been wanting to change them all to something a bit more sleek and functional. These velvet hangers hold my clothes in place and things don’t slide off anymore! They also don’t leave dents in the shoulders of my shirts. I love how they make my closet look more uniform and how much more I can fit because of their low profile. I loved them so much that I grabbed some for my girls as well.

Gracelaced Book

If you haven’t had the pleasure of reading this book, I highly recommend you put it on your wishlist! This is also a great gift to give to any woman in your life. This book is full of beautiful art, but more importantly is packed full of amazing truth! “Who we are and who God is never changes, even though everything else rarely stays the same.” A few other great books I’ve read lately: Moving Mountains, Beholding and Becoming, New Morning Mercies, Gentle and Lowly

Leave a comment